We have chosen to use plant-based rice and pea proteins as they are much gentler on the digestive system than whey protein. They are also a fantastic hypoallergenic protein source that most people can tolerate—as for many people, whey protein is derived from dairy so can cause intolerances. Rice and pea proteins are also suitable for those following a vegan or vegetarian diet.